back to
We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Ghost-Note

supported by
bennythemusicfan thumbnail
bennythemusicfan This totally gives lie to the worn-out "millennials can't play real music" trope. These guys can play their ass off, but also be soulful about it, so that the first thing isn't about technique or chops, but about feeling.
Ben Harris
Ben Harris thumbnail
Ben Harris You'll have to forgive my utter cluelessness in this review, this type of music isn't within my usual purview as an audio weirdo. Glad I stumbled upon it though! I'm pretty sure this isn't an album of improvised pieces, yet somehow Ghost-Note make everything on it sound so damned effortless and heartfelt. An album that would surely make even the meanest spirits a little bit more tolerant. Favorite track: Weedie B. Good.
  • Poster/Print

    12x12 Full Bleed Fuji Silver Halide Photographic Gloss

    *Print only - Frame Not Included*
    ships out within 10 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $10 USD or more 


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    8 Panel Digipak with 2 full length CDs

    Includes unlimited streaming of Swagism via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    Purchasable with gift card

      $17.50 USD or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      $12 USD  or more


  • Swagism Limited Edition Double Vinyl
    Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Gatefold Double LP, limited edition of 500 copies

    Side A 22:43

    01 Jibble Jabble 01:53
    02 Swagism 03:44
    03 Pace Maker 06:48
    04 Fragile 06:02
    05 Weedie B Good 04:36

    Side B 22:56

    01 Milkshake 04:48
    02 Smack ‘Em 07:25
    03 Lookin’ At The World 04:04
    04 Shrill Tones 06:39

    Side C 19:20

    01 Dry Rub 05:06
    02 Bawllz 05:07
    03 No More Silence 04:43
    04 What’s Next 04:24

    Side D 17:19

    01 Funk You Muthafunka 02:20
    02 Nod To Dilla 02:30
    03 The Lone Angel 03:30
    04 Nigel Duke 02:39
    05 Trifelife 06:20

    Includes unlimited streaming of Swagism via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ... more

    Sold Out

Swagism 04:08
Pace Maker 06:48
Fragile 06:59
Milkshake 05:04
Smack 'em 08:19
Shrill Tones 07:30
Dry Rub 05:50
Bawllz 05:39
What's Next? 04:23
Nod to Dilla 03:21
Nigel Duke 03:49
Trifelife 06:20


Ghost-Note’s sound has evolved to a state that can best be described as ‘conscious funk’ – an elaborate and sonically powerful surge of the tremendous talents that each of the players provides, with the bandleaders leaning back and letting the band go. The core lineup is a rotating cast of serious cats - all stretching to meet the expanding nature of the band.

Robert Sput Searight - drums, rhodes, organ, & auxiliary keys
Nate Werth - all percussion
Anthony “AJ” Brown - bass guitar & key bass
Sylvester Uzoma Onyejiaka II - bari sax, tenor sax, & flute
Dywane “MonoNeon” Thomas Jr.- bass guitar, guitar, and baritone guitar
Jonathan Mones - alto sax & flute
Michael Jelani Brooks - tenor sax & flute (A2 & A6)
Xavier Taplin - auxiliary keys & vocals (A4, B2, B3, & B9)


released April 20, 2018

Featured Artists
Nigel Hall - clavinet, moog, rhodes, prophet, arp odyssey, & organ (tracks A2, A3, A5, A7, & B8)
Bobby Ray Sparks- moog & clavinet (track A3)
Phil Lassiter - trumpet (track A4)
Karl Denson - flute (track A5)
Weedie Braimah - djembe, congas, dununs, & vocals (track A5)
Brandon “TAZ” Niederauer- guitar (track A7)
So So Topic - vocals (track A8)
Kamasi Washington - tenor sax (track B3)
Justin Stanton - prophet 6 (track A9)
Prudence TheAuset Sneed - vocals (track B3)
Rico Sisney - vocals (track B4)
Ernie G - turntables/samples (track B6)
Elise Testone - vocals (track B7)


Alvin Ford Jr.- drums (tracks A7, A9, & B9)
Michael Palma - rhodes, moog, clavinet, & prophet (tracks A5, A6, A8, A9, B1, B4, B6, B7, & B9)
Nick “Galaxe” Werth - xylosynth (tracks A2, A4, A6, A7, A9, B1, B2, B7, B8, & B9)
Bob Lanzetti - guitar (track A1)
Ben Burget - flute & soprano sax (tracks A4 & B7)
Chris Payton - guitar (track A7)
Donny Domino - vocals (track A8)
Mark Lettier i- guitar (track A9)
Raja Kassis - guitar (track B3)
Jay Jennings - commentary


all rights reserved



Ropeadope Select Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Only the freshest titles from the Ropeadope catalog.

contact / help

Contact Ropeadope Select

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Ropeadope Select recommends:

If you like Swagism, you may also like: